A Tough Day — James Kim, May You Rest In Peace

Background: CNET Senior Editor James Kim and his family went missing eleven days ago. They were stranded in the Oregon wilderness on remote forest service roads while trying to get to Gold Beach on the Oregon Coast. James body was found yesterday. His wife and children were rescued on Monday.

Yesterday was a tough day. I had been watching the reports about James Kim. Then the email arrived from a colleague. Rescuers had found his body. I did not want to believe it. I felt hope when I went to CNET and read that nothing had been confirmed. I checked Google News. There it was. James body had been found by rescuers at the bottom of a ravine.

I choked up. The news really hit me. I felt it somewhere deeper, more so than ever before have I had this kind of reaction to the death of someone I did not even know.

I have a feeling I know why this one hurts so much. James worked for CNET. He covered the digital audio space. He worked in the tech community. He is one of us.

I am part of the tech community. I have colleagues who knew him well. On a personal level, James got lost in the Oregon wilderness trying to save his family. I live in Oregon. I am a Dad. I’ve traveled in that area with my children over forest service roads.

In some ways, Kim’s death makes me realize how many friends I have in this world of bloggers, podcasters, videobloggers and all the others in this new media world. The bummer? It’s such a sad way to be reminded.

James Kim, may you rest in peace.

Friends of the Kim family are accepting donations at: http://jamesandkati.com/

6 Responses to A Tough Day — James Kim, May You Rest In Peace

  1. Marc says:

    I think that was said very well, and it reflects what I’m sure many of us are feeling about this horrible event.

    I didn’t know James, but from everything I have seen and read he was a very special person who seemed to genuinely enjoy his life. For those of you that haven’t seen it yet, I recommend everyone check out the tribute video on CNET and watch for the part where he and Veronica are working on the robot for Crave. I watched that episode and remember how Veronica gave up on it, and James kept going, and you can really see his excitement when he had the robot moving around. Its not many of us that have such a smile while at work.

    There have been some tough lessons learned this year, but it seems to me that James is a shining example of how passion leads to happiness and fulfillment. Without passion there isnt much reason for any of us to be here, so next time Im bored on the couch Im going remember James and try to get my ass out there and do something!

  2. Thanks, Marc. It is about passion for how we live. James embodied that and I, too, will be reminded of his shining example as I go about how I liive my life.

  3. Discount Car Parts

    Discount Car Parts

  4. Corvette Salvage

    Chevy Corvettes for Sale

  5. Corvette Salvage

    Chevy Corvette for Sale

  6. some hot nude paris hilton sex video tape

    Recently leaked footage of the new Paris Hilton sex tape

Leave a Reply

