Social Network Site Overload?

The Wall Street Journal reports that social-networking sites such as MySpace and Facebook are losing visitors and speculates that there is also an increase of users deleting their pages. Market saturation, guerrilla marketing tactics, and an increase in too many “creepy friends” are all sited as possible reasons for the decline of new visitors and page deletions.

WSJ_Myspacereport

I believe that another very possible reason is because there are so many choices now, people are dispersing. The fact is, various social networking sites are popping up almost daily now. For example, Vox offically launched their site yesterday, and many of these new sites are aiming at more exclusive target markets.

In addition to the ones everyone knows about, (i.e. MySpace, FaceBook, Friendster) we also have (to name just a few!):

  • MOG, (a Musical Nudist Colony???) for the music purists
  • Jobster, for employment seekers
  • YouSuckIRule, for those that want to go “evil”
  • TagWorld, for those with tag addictions
  • Downtown Women’s Club, for professional business women
  • Tribe, for those wanting to network in their local community
  • Maya’sMom, for the social parent
  • and the list goes on and on…

With the plethora of choices, it is no wonder people are deleting pages in one site and jumping onto another. But now the dilemma… I have friends on MySpace, Mog and Tribe. I can’t keep up with maintaining a page on all of them, but I want to stay connected and keep access to some of the great media content that they generate or find.

In a post by Byrne Hobart, he ponders “Whats next for ‘Social Networking’ sites?” Hobart states, …”These sites host a few kilobytes of text and a much larger volume of movies, pictures, and music, but the only reason all that content gets centralized on a single page is that no one has found an effective way to decentralize it… (hint: It’s a matter of getting people to comply to standards, not making up a new technology)”

Yes! Media syndication for the rest of us please.

12 Responses to Social Network Site Overload?

  1. […] SplashCast – Channel yourself across the web… Just another WordPress.com weblog « Social Network Site Overload? […]

  2. Jamie Parks says:

    Excellent post. Wouldn’t it be cool if the next version of Adobe PhotoShop came with a social network type user interface integrated so that anytime some one needed help they could turn to one of the licensed users, because simply by registering your copy of the software it would give you the option to join the web-based photoshop community.

    Imagine this: Every time a designer finished a project they could actually click a button and publish it to the community (including meta data/tags) and it could be re-mixable.. and well you get my point. Its the future of software support and re-usability. (i.e. video editing software could really be a hit if they had front end social sharing plugins built into the ui..)

    Anyway – nice blog, found you thru MyBlogLog.

  3. […] Pete Cashmore at Mashable mentions in his post about MySpace tackling the copyright issue that they are sure to annoy their user base with these restrictions. And deleting their pages (and their friends) will will certainly not improve their recent decline in numbers. Seems like there is a compromise here. Some artists are working with the kids by providing some content for free… as well as making a statement. […]

  4. Tarah says:

    Good day! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest
    authoring a blog article or vice-versa? My site covers a lot of the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each
    other. If you are interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

  5. I take pleasure in, cause I discovered just what I was having a look for.
    You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a great day. Bye

  6. It’s very straightforward to find out any topic on net as compared to books, as I found this piece of writing at this web site.

  7. Shellie says:

    Terrific post however I was wondering if you could write a
    litte more on this topic? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Thanks!

  8. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by
    searching for great ape heart project

  9. Caroline says:

    Once the fungus has been eliminated it is a professional?
    I hope you enjoy this little tricks and feel free to
    comment below if you have gray hair then you’re old, Topaz said. Which I did He could have had mine, but smoothes my hair, which is then used for casting.

  10. Axl Hazarika says:

    I think this is one of the most vital info for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The site style is great, the
    articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  11. Heya i’m for the primary time here. I came across this board and I to find It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to offer something again and aid others such as you aided me.

  12. Great work! This is the kind of information that are supposed to
    be shared around the net. Shame on Google for no longer positioning this submit upper!
    Come on over and talk over with my web site .
    Thanks =)

Leave a Reply

